Does Facebook Notify When You Screenshot a Picture or Story

Facebook is a great place to share your life with friends and family. With this comes the ability to save and screenshot anything and everything you want.

However, as time goes on, it’s not uncommon for users to capture something that is posted and then find out later that the post was taken down.

Screenshotting is a simple way to capture amazing moments online.

Does Facebook Notify When You Screenshot a Picture or Story

But then nothing is permanent on social media, especially with the full control that the content creator has to delete any post permanently.

Facebook screenshot notification is a privacy measure means for users. Social media platforms like Snapchat have already implemented this.

How about Facebook? Does Facebook notify when you screenshot a picture or story?

In this article, I will answer this pressing question on Facebook screenshot notification.

See Also: How to Get Notification When Someone is Online on Facebook

 

Why Facebook Picture and Story Screenshot Notification? 

Facebook is a massive community of online users where users can see each other’s profile, share posts, saves stories, and reels without permission.

Due to privacy, this has erupted concerns where users are asking questions relating to Facebook pictures and story screenshots.

Questions like “Can you see if someone screenshots your Facebook story”, “Can you see if someone screenshots your Facebook picture”, “can someone see if you screenshot their Facebook story”, and “Can you see if someone screenshots your Facebook story”, “Can you see if someone screenshots your Facebook picture” and similar topics in forums and group.

Facebook users have requested that Facebook introduces a feature that notifies users when someone screenshots their post, profile picture and stories.

 

Does Facebook Notify When You Screenshot a Picture?

This is a question I’ve been wondering about for a while now. I’ve seen posts where people ask this question and I’ve seen people explain the feature.

Facebook Ads
Facebook Ads

Some say that they screenshot pictures and stories to save them as images to use elsewhere, but most people seem to screenshot pictures to post them on their wall.

This is a common practice and most people don’t think twice about it. However, it’s important to note how Facebook manages their notification regarding screenshots.

So does Facebook notify when you screen a picture?

Unfortunately, Facebook does not notify when you take a screenshot of a picture.

But for disappearing messages on Messenger, users get notified if someone takes a screenshot.

Since Facebook does not notify users when someone takes a screenshot picture, make sure that you don’t post sensitive posts, images or videos.

Through the privacy settings, you can hide Facebook posts from a specific person without having to delete your Facebook account.

See Also: Why Can’t I See Last Active on Facebook Messenger

 

Does Facebook Notify When You Screenshot a Story?

It’s pretty simple: NO.

Facebook has no specific screenshot policy. Anyone without approval from the poster can take a screenshot of the story.

Everyone can take a screenshot of a Facebook Story on a smartphone, and there’s no difference between a smartphone or a PC.

It’s quite unlike Instagram or Snapchat where you get notified of screenshots of story posts.

Facebook is yet to introduce any such feature that can notify you about someone taking a screenshot of your Facebook posts or tells you when someone saves your photo.

 

Does Messenger Notify When You Screenshot?

With the recent Facebook Messenger update to end-to-end encrypted chats, it can detect screenshots of disappearing messages.

Hence, a screenshot of Facebook Messenger chat notifies when a screenshot is taken.

Facebook vanishing feature removes messages after a set time. This means that before the time elapsed, someone can still share, copy or take a screenshot before it disappears.

The purpose of the notification alert is to ensure that the user gets notified when a screenshot of their content is taken.

Currently, the feature is only available on iPhone, Android and iPad devices.

See Also: How to Remove Reels and Short Videos from Facebook

 

How Can You Screenshot Facebook Stories

Taking a Facebook Stories screenshot is not different from how you take other screenshots on your device.

For Android users, you can screenshot Facebook stories by pressing the power button and the volume side button at the same time.

The iPhone users can screenshot Facebook stories by pressing the power button and the volume rocker button at the same time.

For Windows PC/Laptop, you can screenshot Facebook story posts by pressing the “print screen” button.

If you’re on Mac, simply press command+shift+3 simultaneously to screenshot a Facebook story.

 

 

Conclusion

Screenshots are a quick way to save certain content that we find valuable for later use.

At the moment, Facebook does not send notifications to users when a screenshot of their picture and story is taken.

I hope this article answered all your question on taking Facebook pictures and story screenshots.

 

Also Read:

Harrison Acha