How to Mark Messages as Unread on Instagram

Have you ever find yourself in the situation where you read an Instagram message that you intended not to read?

It can be annoying and frustrating. I have seen a lot of people on social media group ask about how to mark messages as unread on Instagram.

Perhaps you have been on Instagram for a while, you must have noticed the ”seen” tag appear just below the messages the you sent and read by the target audience.

How to Mark Messages as Unread on Instagram

This tag is a way that the sender knows that his message has been read by the recipient.

What if you have read a message that you want to unread? Or, you don’t want the sender to be aware that their messages has been read by you?

It is important to note that, it is impossible to unread a message on Instagram. By taking the step to mark specific messages as unread, you can be confident that you messages is safe in a pool of delivered and messages.

This article will guide you on the ways to unseen and unread Instagram messages.

Without any further ado, let’s get started!

See Also: How to Turn off Read Receipts on Instagram

 

Can I Unread Messages on Instagram?

Instagram is a popular photo-sharing and messaging service, and it also has an in-app message-reading feature.

If you don’t have a business account you will not be able to access the in-app messaging function.

You can view your business messages from the app only with an Instagram business account. Perhaps you don’t want to see these messages, not body else will.

It was introduced quite recently and is one of the most used features on the platform.

If you use Instagram for your business, you’ll find that there are two main types of people who receive notifications from Instagram: people who are “important” to you (the people you choose to follow) and those who aren’t (or shouldn’t be).

The former can most likely to have their messages categorized into primary while the later, general.

Also,you can opt to get notifications whenever someone sends you a message. When you send a reply to someone, the recipient will receive an email with a link to the new message.

This can be achieved with the Primary Message tab.

On the other hand, when you put the users in the General message tab, you won’t get notified when a user sends you a message via inbox.

It is important to note that by default, the primary tab is open in your inbox. Hence, it helps avoid Instagram messages that you don’t want to read.

You can unread Instagram messages in both Primary and General inbox following the same procedure.

 

How to Mark Messages as Unread on Instagram

Marking messages as unread is a great way to protect yourself from potential cyber-bullying and harassment.

The best way to do this is to mark a specific message as unread so that it is no longer visible to others. Have you ever noticed a specific message in your feed that you would like to read but you didn’t have the time to do so?

Marking that message as unread will allow you to see it later. You can also mark messages as unread to show your followers that you are not interested in seeing their messages.

If you don’t want to receive any more messages, you can always turn off your notifications.

Here’s how you can unread messages on Instagram

  • Launch your Instagram app.
  • Navigate to inbox and tap on the three line bars at the upper section of your screen.
  • Next, you will see an option to choose the conversation that you want to mark as unread or delete.
  • Then tap on ”Mark as unread” from the options displayed.

This step allows you to mark messages as unread so you can read it later. You can only do this on mobile as it is currently unavailable on desktop.

 

The following function is for the business account users only. It means that it is only for those who have a business account on Instagram.

So, you can use it if you have a business account. However, you need to have a business account on Instagram to use this function.

You can always read the messages of strangers from the “message requests” section without informing them that you have seen and read their messages.

If you accept a friend request and it shows the “seen” symbol in your feed, you can turn off notifications for that person.

You can restrict a user’s ability to send you messages by controlling how you are notified about incoming messages.

 

 

Conclusion

Marking messages as unread on Instagram is a great way to save time and keep your inbox clean.

Following the procedures in this article, you should be able to unread Instagram messages.

 

Also Read:

Harrison Acha
Latest posts by Harrison Acha (see all)